Gratefuls in the early morning.

 

img_1944

Daily Scripture: Colossians 3:9-16

9 Don’t lie to each other. Take off the old human nature with its practices 10 and put on the new nature, which is renewed in knowledge by conforming to the image of the one who created it. 11 In this image there is neither Greek nor Jew, circumcised nor uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave nor free, but Christ is all things and in all people.

12 Therefore, as God’s choice, holy and loved, put on compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. 13 Be tolerant with each other and, if someone has a complaint against anyone, forgive each other. As the Lord forgave you, so also forgive each other. 14 And over all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. 15 The peace of Christ must control your hearts—a peace into which you were called in one body. And be thankful people. 16 The word of Christ must live in you richly. Teach and warn each other with all wisdom by singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Sing to God with gratitude in your hearts.

It’s 5 am. My devotion from church this morning by Ginger Rothhaas (http://gpsinsights.cor.org) included a challenge to take the following list and post it somewhere and work on one or more of Paul’s directives. I see several I need to focus on.

  • don’t lie
  • put on compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience
  • be tolerant
  • forgive
  • put on love
  • have a peaceful heart
  • be thankful
  • teach and warn with wisdom
  • sing with gratitude

I couldn’t sleep. By the time this traveler arrived at her weekend destination, granddaughters were already asleep. So, I am up and waiting to hear the first sounds coming from their room this morning. It’s a good time to reflect, to study, to be grateful, and to pray from my list of requests while I wait for whispers and little voices.

A challenge to begin my day. Accepted:

I try very hard these days to not lie, but sometimes wearing a mask, pretending things are different, omitting details, and responding with, “I’m fine” fall into this category.

Aunt Patsy exemplifies compassion, kindness, gentleness, humility, patience. Be more like Aunt Patsy. And Aunt Estalene. And Roxanne and Linda.

Tolerance is something I am getting better at, but why is it harder to be tolerant of family? Why do we treat others better than the ones who know us best? Why do we sometimes have two separate personalities, public and private?

img_1943

Will I ever fully learn to forgive? I hope so. Because sometimes it hurts so bad.

I have found peace in my heart, I have been blessed with a peaceful life, and for this, I am grateful.

I’m pretty sure I have the thankful and gratitude thing down, but it’s like my walk with God, always growing, always something more to learn, until the day when I meet Him face-to-face.

I taught. I tried to share wisdom. I could say I’m done, I failed. Move on. But I am learning that the best teacher teaches by doing. Walk the walk, because sometimes words are shallow when they aren’t followed up with action. Living example right here.

Sing with gratitude. My internal jukebox sings constantly with gratitude. I’m not a singer. But when Kevin Bogan orchestrates Sunday morning hymns to end with acapella singing…I’m done. It’s over. I am crying gratitude and want to replay it over and over and over. So I do. I’m a pianist. PLAY with gratitude. As long as my fingers will allow.

Today, I will count every. last. thing. Name them one by one. Beginning with Katrina. And then Parker. And then Reilly. And then…

Time to enjoy. I hear little voices and two years has been too long.

img_1945

Leave a Reply

