Gratefuls from the gritty floor.

Image result for titan stainless steel scraper

I am grateful today that a monumental project is near the end. Keys were handed over today, and all that is left can be done in a weekend.

As I was hugging a master bathroom toilet at 6 am this morning, a stainless steel scraping tool in one hand, and the other to steady myself as I worked on grout cleanup, I had an entire house of silence in order to hear all the loud things.

Things like:

God, I am so grateful that I’m finally trusted to take care of things.

God, I am so grateful that Dad has been very willing and able to help us on these ridiculous projects.

God, this remodeling thing certainly requires patience and vision, neither of which I possess, so I am grateful for Sam, because he definitely has a wealth of both.

God, I am grateful for lessons learned with each project we take on. Who would have thought to check the plumbing and drainage before final installation of things fairly permanent. Who would have thought that letting a half-finished bathroom or two sit for months would end up being my attitude breaker one day before deadline. Who would have thought that covering the newly tiled or hard-wooded floors would eliminate unnecessary and painstaking clean-up for Demo Dad. Who woulda thought. Now, if we can just remember…

God, I am grateful that because of these remodel projects, You have taught me through the wisdom and work ethic of Sam and Cosmo and Paul and Mike and Dwight, that no job is too big or too hard…might be too EXPENSIVE, but it’s never too big or too difficult.

God, I am grateful that throughout this project, we have been surrounded by love and support from old friends and new ones, from family members who spent hours helping us to see it to the end, and in the middle of this project, they took on the craziness of the other remodels, too. God, thank you for Donna who held our hand, for Hong and Chuck who became our Home Depot friends and beyond, for Cosmo and Mike who have stayed with Sam all these years, for Dad and Dwight and Pete and Marlene and Jarod who helped even when it’s not so fun when you’re family, and God, thank you for Paul, our new friend who has answered every call, every text, and has been there for us and with us –  he and his beautiful wife and their children are now part of our family. For all of these, Lord Jesus, I am so grateful.

God, I am grateful for the little things, like soft-close drawers. They are a luxury, as is the granite and the new appliances, but oh, those little things make such a difference.

God, I am grateful that we decided on a plum-colored front door. Everyone should have a purple door.

God, I am grateful for the lesson learned that Last-Minute-Larry and Last-Minute-Lucy will not last minute again. I have lived too much of my life procrastinating, and in most cases, it has been okay. This time, it was not okay. It turned out okay, but it was not okay for Rhonda (aka Last-Minute-Lucy) to gripe and complain on the phone to Sam (aka Last-Minute-Larry) about all of the things that had to be done last minute.

God, because of that, I am grateful that You revealed to me in the dark of the morning and the quiet of the house, that Sam and I are better together. Thank You for bringing us together, because we work well with each other and enjoy being the two of us.

This house has enriched our lives and it took us on a new adventure.

For this home, I am grateful. May you bless the family who lives inside, and please allow them to feel the love that went into every nook, every cranny.

And please shield their eyes from the lessons we learned after-the-fact.

img_0977

img_0968

img_0965

img_2089

img_2090

img_2112

 

One thought on “Gratefuls from the gritty floor.

  1. Rhonda it looks beautiful

    On Thu, Dec 1, 2016 at 5:54 PM, rhondaisgrateful wrote:

    > rhondadonda posted: ” I am grateful today that a monumental project is > near the end. Keys were handed over today, and all that is left can be done > in a weekend. As I was hugging a master bathroom toilet at 6 am this > morning, a stainless steel scraping tool in one hand, and ” >

Leave a Reply

