Sometimes it’s better to put love into hugs than to put it into words.

Image result for i'd like to teach the world

 

Today, I am grateful for Sam’s hands. He holds mine. He squeezes shoulders. He offers hugs freely. He puts his arm around me in church. He rubs my back without me asking. He opens car doors and regular doors for me and for other women. He uses his hands to show affection and respect. I am grateful for those hands.

I am grateful for the way God seemed to line things up this morning. A simple scripture in my Bob Goff calendar:

Philippians 2:1-5 (The Message)

1-4 If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.

Think of yourselves the way Christ Jesus thought of himself.

And then I got to work, and this scripture was today’s thought from my calendar on my desk:

Hebrews 13:1-2 (CEB)

13 Keep loving each other like family. Don’t neglect to open up your homes to guests, because by doing this some have been hosts to angels without knowing it.

And then I read this in my inbox from Jennifer Dukes Lee:

Research reveals a startling truth: People need up to TEN meaningful touches every day to maintain well-being. But in our digital age, we are a touch-starved generation. That means we have to be super-intentional about making touch a regular part of our day.

A hug. A pat on the back. A handshake. A caress of the arm. These touches are fundamental to human connection … and happiness.

Today, I dare you to reach out and touch someone. Happiness is often hidden in plain sight, with a simple touch. So … make an effort to shake a hand, pat a back, hug a friend. Your touch will make someone happy — and it will have the same effect on you.

Image may contain: one or more people, outdoor and text

Great advice.

I am grateful for great advice, great BIBLICAL advice.

I am also grateful that I have a husband who follows this advice and knows how to show genuine love. He doesn’t have to be super-intentional, however. It’s his nature. He says he learned this from his Mom.

I am grateful for Sam’s Mom.

Image result for hug quote

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

