Today is the day to take the road less traveled.

Image result for tony evans detour quotes
I am giving myself a gift on this 52nd birthday. I am deleting my Facebook account. I have been toying with the idea for a couple of months, but a few incidents have solidified my decision and today is a great day to make it happen.
I have put myself in the position of watching some family members and friends become so addicted to social media and vowed inwardly to never allow myself to become so tied to Facebook or Instagram or Snapchat or whatever it is out there that people must connect on a daily and sometimes hourly basis.
I have listened in horror to the stories of Facebook videos in real time, showing people being victimized and treated as less than human beings for the world to watch.
I have stayed awake at night worrying about lives of loved ones being displayed all over the internet for the world to see, worrying about choices made that will affect those closest to me, choices that I learn about in posts…on Facebook.
I was chastised today for a post I made on Facebook that could possibly be taken wrong by people who do not know me or my motivation…or my heart.
Slowly, I have become that which I despised.
*****
nar·cis·sism 
[nahr-suh-siz-em]
noun
 – inordinate fascination with oneself; excessive self-love; vanity
 – extreme selfishness, with a grandiose view of one’s own talents and a craving for admiration, as characterizing a personality type
*****
And slowly, I have inched my way closer and closer to feeling the need to check Facebook just to see what is going on, and I have become a slave to a computer/device.
No more.
I am grateful today for detours.
I am grateful today for the virtual scissors to cut the tie that binds.
I am grateful today for old fashioned email, US Postal Service, delivery drivers who drop packages off at the front door, a cell phone in order to call or text only, actual hand-written cards to share life updates and reach out to touch another life…
I am grateful for a small step backwards in order to take back a piece of my life that had decided that it was so important to check Facebook and be on the computer instead of engaging in the real world.
Image result for max lucado idols
I am grateful for small town America that is going to help me figure out all over again how to appreciate the little things.
I am grateful that I will not have instant access to everyone’s pictures, what they ate for dinner or where they decided to dine, who they support politically or socially, or what makeup/health kick they are selling. Not that I won’t miss seeing SOME things, but in the scope of the matter, this is better.
It’s not a big step backwards, I know, but it’s a start.

More often than not, it’s a detour, one that can leave you feeling temporarily stalled and slowed down. Which nobody likes. But detours are necessary if any improvements are going to be made on the paths we travel. Or if any wreck is going to be cleaned up or a hazard avoided. Detours are designed for our own good, regardless of how we view or feel about them.

Detours are a good thing that often feels bad. – Tony Evans

I am grateful for my Conductor, and I am ready to play my instrument, not just observe from the audience/screen. Happy birthday, Rhonda. Enjoy your gift.
Image result for offline life
Leave a Reply

