Appreciating the little things, day 1.

Image result for it's a good day to begin again

 

I am grateful to see a bird soar, wings extended and still.

I am grateful to taste the juice of an orange segment.

I am grateful to hear the beauty of a silent morning.

I am grateful to smell morning coffee or a waft of bacon frying.

I am grateful to witness a new friendship being formed right before my eyes.

I am grateful to walk up and down stairs.

I am grateful to be able to read.

I am grateful that although I never took typing in school, I can type.

I am grateful that when I need a break, I can go downstairs and play the piano.

I am grateful for my glasses in order to see clearly again.

Image result for it's a good day to begin again

 

I am grateful for lotion in the wintertime.

I am grateful that the very first words I heard yesterday morning were “Happy birthday, sweetheart.”

I am grateful for a phone call from my sister and my daughter yesterday.

I am grateful for a new birthday pillow that was chosen just for us by Michelle.

I am grateful to have been serenaded by five grandchildren for my birthday via video.

Image result for it's a good day to begin again

 

I am grateful for birthday emails from Ron and Dwight.

I am grateful for emails and text messages from CBA friends and students.

I am grateful for one more day of sun before winter really arrives at our door.

I am grateful for bad dreams that are only dreams and not reality any longer.

And I am grateful for this song, playing on my internal jukebox today. I can hear Carolyn Porter on the piano, Josephine Thornburg, Shirley Pendergrass, Roy Quick, and Mom in my ear:

Every day with Jesus
Is sweeter than the day before
Every day with Jesus
I love Him more and more.
Jesus saves and keeps me
And He’s the one I’m waiting for
Every day with Jesus
Is sweeter than the day before

Image result for he restores my soul

 

 

Leave a Reply

