Life is short. Live it well. Stay humble and kind.

Image result for psalm 19:14

Father,

Thank You. I do not say it often enough.

Thank You.

For things too abundant to count. For people too numerous in my life. For experiences both good and bad that cause me to reflect and grow.

Thank You.

Father, today, I say thank You for country music. I know, very much out of my comfort zone. But then I heard this, saw this, and I think You are all over and in this, and I cannot help but cry and kind of wish I could have a do-over in the raising of children:

 

Thank You for friends who enrich our lives and for the ability and the desire to step out of our comfort zone and reach out to them rather than waiting for them to reach out to us.

Thank You for our Dads and the time we still have with them.

Thank You for allowing us, in our middle to late afternoon years, to recognize how important family really is and how quickly time passes.

Thank You for the blessing of Sam’s family and for the sweet and tender moments of hymn singing and tears flowing, your Holy Spirit’s presence felt in the room.

Thank You for our church.

Thank You for a late Sunday afternoon walk followed by dinner in front of the computer to watch our service back in Kansas City.

Thank You for a husband who holds my hand during prayer.

Thank You for tears when we hear music that speaks to our souls.

Thank You for opening our eyes to new experiences and new friends.

Thank You for giving us the desire to step out of our comfort zone and live life rather than watch it go by on a computer screen.

Thank You for great authors who write the best books, and thank You for giving me a partner who lets me read out loud and who wants to discuss this paragraph or that paragraph and appreciates others’ opinions and thoughts, even though he might not share the same beliefs or philosophy.

Thank You for giving us the opportunity to love someone else’s daughters when we miss ours being in our lives and the pain is almost more than we can bear.

Thank You for music that has always been a part of our world – playing the piano and french horn, singing, directing, teaching children in musicals, blaring it loud on the radio as we go down the road, attending concerts, appreciating the art if not the style…

Thank You for Ephesians 4:29-32, again.

Image result for ephesians 4:29-32

 

Thank You for three cinnamon rolls this weekend, made by three different bakers, all three, incredibly good – both cinnamon rolls…and bakers.

Thank You for a clean window on a sunny Monday morning.

Thank you for an absence of guns in my world, for an absence of revenge in my world, for an absence of hate and pride and cup-half-empty in my world.

Thank You for sore muscles, evidence of a little more movement and a return to activity which can only help in removing the cinnamon roll weight.

Thank You for the reminder that the absence of words can cut just as deeply. Please help me to always be cognizant of my words, spoken, inferred, or bottled and silenced.

Thank You for giving me a family who loves me, no matter what. Thank You for my family who has accepted Sam with open arms and given him another family to love.

Thank You, Father, for being right here with me, for allowing me to feel You near, to know You are carrying me when I am too weak to walk on my own, for showing me in the every day that You exist. I am Yours, and You are mine. Thank You. I will do my best to live life well and stay humble and kind.

Take the burden from my arms
Take the anchors off my lungs
Take me broken and make me one
Break the silence and make it a song

Life is short; I wanna live it well
One life, one story to tell
Life is short; I wanna live it well
And you’re the one I’m living for
Awaken all my soul
Every breath that you take is a miracle
Life is short; I wanna live it well, yeah

I wanna sing with all my heart a lifelong song
Even if some notes come out right and some come out wrong
‘Cause I can’t take none of that through the door
Yeah, I’m living for more than just a funeral
I wanna burn brighter than the dawn

Life is short; I wanna live it well
One life, one story to tell
Life is short; I wanna live it well

 

Leave a Reply

