…you know you’re with a friend.

Image result for best friend quote

I marvel sometimes at how God has given me so many gifts of friendship. Not just friends. GOOD friends. Friends who know me down deep and still think I’m okay to hang around. Friends who would wash my hair if I were in the hospital kinds of friends. Friends who would not turn their nose up at the cobweb in the corner or the dust covering every square inch. Friends who would write a sweet note in that dust with their finger, or better yet, ask, “Where’s the Pledge?”

Just when I think I’ve thought of them all, He reminds me of another. I know there are those experts who say that most people have one or two “best” friends, and about that many “close” friends, but I have more. I am sure I have the most.

I have been gifted like the Showcase Showdown on The Price is Right when you come within $250 of the actual retail price without going over and win BOTH showcases.

Related image

 

It’s one of those days. I’ve needed one of those days this week. It’s been a busy week. So, when I woke up to a cardinal singing and a dog tail thumping, I began to say my gratefuls.

I am grateful for alarm clocks that sound like cardinals singing.

I am grateful for happy dog tails.

I am grateful for the smell of bacon.

I am grateful for a friend waiting in the morning kitchen sunshine that shows every cobweb and all the dust.

I am grateful for flower beds full of daffodils that sing with their beauty, “Oh what a beautiful morning, oh what a beautiful day…”

I am grateful for memories of Roman on a horse, singing, “Oh what a beautiful morning, oh what a beautiful day…”

I am grateful for a KU loss and a KState win, a very rare happening at the Big 12 conference tournament. This Cat fan will take whatever she can get.

I am grateful for a purple sweater to wear today to kind of gloat a little.

I am grateful for Elaine who let me unload some heaviness last night.

Image result for friend quote dust

When you’re with someone you trust in, never needing to pretend,
Someone who helps you know yourself…you know you’re with a friend.
– Amanda Bradley

I am grateful for a new experience and a new writing “club.” Maybe I’ll learn something and get a little better at this.

I am grateful for the hymn, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus,” and for “No One Understands Like Jesus” and for “I’d Rather Have Jesus” and for “Blessed Assurance.”

I am grateful for my Dad who says funny things to Natia and takes out the trash and shares special stories with our friends and family.

I am grateful for my sister who practices doing love when it is so hard and hurts and is uncomfortable and inconvenient, and through the ugly, she chooses to love.

I am grateful that Sam is my best.

Image result for best friend quote

And I am grateful for the kind of friend who would write in my dust and hold vigil with me in the darkness:

  • My Mom
  • Elaine
  • Michelle
  • Angela
  • Julie
  • Geri
  • Delores
  • Amanda
  • Melissa
  • Rachel
  • Erin
  • Dad
  • Linda
  • Lisa
  • Lori
  • Nanette
  • Ann
  • Jeanine
  • Rhonda
  • Terry
  • Dwight
  • Chris
  • LaDonna
  • Shirley
  • Connie
  • Marcia
  • Jared
  • Cindy
  • Donna
  • Vangie/Roman
  • Joyce

 

Image result for dusty surface

 

One thought on “…you know you’re with a friend.

Leave a Reply

