I’ve come to a conclusion.

Related image

Conclusion is a funny word. Say it. Several times even. See? It’s funny.

con·clu·sion
kənˈklo͞oZHən/
noun
1. the end or finish of an event or process.
2. a judgment or decision reached by reasoning.

*****

The first words I hear each morning and the last words I hear each night: “I love you.” And more often than not, I also hear, “I am the luckiest man to have such a beautiful wife.” And sometimes I hear, “You make me so happy.”

I’ve come to a conclusion. Life is too short to take moments like this for granted.

*****

Remember when we were all little and Saint Patrick’s Day happened and we HAD to wear green to school so we wouldn’t get pinched? It was SUCH A BIG DEAL.

We would make shamrocks and rainbows and talk about the pot of gold and write limericks and I was never quite sure of those leprechauns, but it was always silly fun to say “Top ‘o the mornin’ to ya!” and be called lassies and lads.

We got a little older – junior high and high school – and if you were “cool,” you kept your green to yourself and acted like it was no big deal, but if someone tried to pinch you, you SWORE you were wearing green underwear, or you would point to the tiny speck of green on the tag inside your shirt.

Now that I am finally an actual adult – I know, it took some time to get here – I find this holiday kind of like President’s Day or Arbor Day or National Coffee Day.

Evidently, there are some people in this building who are still living out their grade school years.

I walked into the building this morning and had to look twice. A grown man was walking in at the same time wearing white pants, a bright green shirt, and a green ascot cap. I’ve never seen so many women wearing green shoes, green tops, green pants, green jewelry. I had to look twice when I saw the plant watering man outside our office doors – he was donning a sparkly green bowler.

(Yes, I had to look up “types of hats.” I had no idea, other than the kind of hat a leprechaun wears and what old men driving convertibles wear.)

I would understand if all of these people were on their way to the 3rd largest Saint Patrick’s Day Parade in the USA in downtown Kansas City to ride on a float. But they came to WORK like this.

I’ve come to a conclusion. Life would be boring if it weren’t for unique people who still try to live out their grade school years on Saint Patrick’s Day.

*****

My boss has taught me a lot in the last few years. In this season of claiming my independence and finding out who Rhonda is, she taught me that it’s okay to do things the way I want to do them – I don’t have to look a certain way or be a certain way because everyone else is. If I don’t want to wear green underwear, so be it.

I like casual. I like jeans and sweats and hoodies, too. I don’t like dresses. I might like dresses if I felt good about my legs, but I don’t, so I don’t. I am not a jewelry fan, so I don’t wear much. I don’t think I have ever worn a scarf around my neck. I would probably like scarves, since I like to be warm and covered, but since I never have, I don’t. I am very capable of choosing my clothes – my favorite shopping experience is to see a mannequin and tell the associate at a store, “I want to look just like that,” or see an entire outfit in a catalog and wish I could buy it, head to toe. It’s just easy to pull on a pair of jeans and a hoodie and be COMFORTABLE.

My boss doesn’t like to travel much, so she doesn’t. She loves wine, so she drinks it. She likes one certain pair of sandals, so she has that pair in several colors. We like what we like what we like.

I’ve come to a conclusion. We are 52, and we are old enough and capable enough to do life our way.

*****

Image result for alexander's terrible

A co-worker came to the office this morning having an Alexander day. A Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. My boss sat down in her office and lovingly told her to take the day off and go home. And then an hour or so later, called my co-worker to find out how she was doing. My boss even called a mutual friend to check on my co-worker, and I have no doubt that my boss will follow up all weekend, too.

Life is short and we never have enough time for gladdening the hearts of those who travel the way with us. O, be swift to love! Make haste to be kind.  – Henri Frederic Amiel

I’ve come to a conclusion. Today, I am surrounded by kind hearts and kooky people.

*****

Yesterday, I read my Love Does calendar. I read it every morning, but yesterday stands out. Okay, not THAT much standing out, since I can’t remember exactly what it said, word for word, but it was something about rocks and asphalt. It was more about how our lives are messed up with hurts and failures and mistakes and wrong turns and God still wants us. And He still uses us. Even when. Even if. Even so.

I still have trust issues. Sheesh, I am wearing a green shirt today. I have passive aggressive tendencies even now. I still find myself sitting in judgment more than I care to admit. I am selfish sometimes. I get very defensive and not very nice when it comes to my family. But, I am glad I belong. I am glad that I am a part of His plan. I am glad that He assures me I am worthy.

I’ve come to a conclusion. I am glad I am Yours.

*****

I’ve come to a conclusion. I am very grateful that I am loved, that my world is unique, that I can be comfortable and casual in my 52-year-old self, that kind hearts and kooky people surround me and make life interesting, and I am grateful to be chosen by YOU.

L-Loved
U-Unique
C – Casual, Comfortable
K- Kindhearted and Kooky
Y- Yours

I am grateful to be so LUCKY on this Saint Patrick’s Day.

Related image

One thought on “I’ve come to a conclusion.

  1. I love you BECAUSE you’re unique, casual, comfortable, kindhearted, and – especially – because you’re KOOKY! Loved this read, Rhonda! Way to tell it like it is!

Leave a Reply

