It’s not what we have in life, but WHO we have in life.

Image result for friends quote

I am grateful for young squirrels who wake at the crack of dawn, just like me, and decide it is time to begin playing. A little guy was the epitome of the definition of “scurry” this morning.

scur·ry
verb
 (of a person or small animal) move hurriedly with short quick steps.

I am grateful for my best friend/Sam who calls me on my walk every morning, and we walk together, even though we are hundreds of miles apart.

I am grateful for a little dog who doesn’t mind getting up early to go on a walk in the pre-dawn, even if her little paws have to hurry fast to keep up with my exercise. She scurried.

 I am grateful for a little girl who left a secret message for Ama in the middle of a brand-new notebook many months ago, found just this morning as I was hurrying out the door.

img_03221.jpg

I love you, too, Anissa.

I am grateful for my friend/daughter who calls me almost every day just to talk.

I am grateful for a friend who is driving three hours today to come and visit me, to go to our writing club meeting tonight.

I am grateful for a friend who has been doing some incredible writing and shares it with me in a random email. Her latest entry, and I don’t mind being her second-hand blog:

We took a weekend a couple weeks ago to start the process of cleaning up the yard.  The perennials were popping through trying to reach up to the sun’s rays through the mass of fallen leaves, dead stalks and dead grass left late in the fall when this gardener was tired of weeding.   With the flower beds cleared and the yard sprayed, I decided to tackle the rose bushes. Now, I didn’t literally tackle the roses, but anyone who has dealt with roses knows there isn’t any way to mess with them without getting stuck with a thorn or two or nine.  The mission of cutting back the roses was accomplished with only minor scratches and ouchies.  However, a week or so later I notice a sore spot on my index finger.  You know that feeling of there’s something in there, but no matter how you prod and dig you can’t find the thorn, splinter or whatever foreign object that is causing the pain. 

I waited a couple days and finally the culprit, a tiny piece of thorn, made its way to the top where I could pluck it out.  I felt instant relief and also shame.  I had whined, complained, lamented and dramatized the pain and agony of this small thorn that had festered on my finger.  How dare I.  

I know a man that was beaten, stripped of all dignity, and a whole crown of thorns was placed on his head. Not gently I’m sure. I can’t imagine the pain that was endured by this man. This man that had done nothing wrong, This man who cared more about me than he did about his own self-preservation or excruciating pain.  That small insignificant thorn in my finger was a reminder that “God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have everlasting life”. 

The next time I tangle with the roses, should I encounter a thorn, let it be a reminder of that crown of thorns worn by my Savior and let me rejoice in the knowledge that because of Him my sins are forgiven and a life everlasting is waiting for me. – Linda Francis, soon-to-be author

I am grateful for a friend/boss who shared her Easter tradition with me this morning – she collects papier-mâché eggs and fills them each year with lots of goodies for each family member. She made one for our guests on Sunday, just because.

Easter Egg

I am grateful for my friend and sister from another mother who gave me the daily calendar next to that egg. Today’s message is a quote from William Penn:

I expect to pass through life but once.
If, therefore, there can be any kindness I can show,
or any good thing I can do to any fellow being,
let me do it now…
as I shall not pass this way again.  

I am grateful for another friend/Dad who went to a movie with me last night.

I am grateful for my friends who happen to be my sister and my brother who email me, text me, or call me, more than I reach out to them.

I am grateful and love that I have WHOs in my life.

I am grateful for Maundy Thursday, and even though I have never been to a Maundy Thursday service, I do appreciate the message. If you have time to read this hilarious but very poignant story about foot washing, you will begin to understand my foot trepidation and phobia, and at the same time, you will be touched.  Wonderful message to prepare my heart for tomorrow and the weekend and perfect story to go along with William Penn’s wisdom.

https://theaccidentalmissionary.wordpress.com/2017/04/13/love-fear-and-toenails-in-your-hair-3/

And finally, I am grateful for a day off tomorrow to prepare for Easter weekend.

Image result for easter

Leave a Reply

