Being an adult is like folding a fitted sheet.

Image result for wren nest

My back hurts from reclining in this bed all day with a laptop on my leg desk. I have stared at the black blank tv screen trying to think of something worthwhile for which to be grateful today.

Inspiration has flown the coop.

So, I am going to sit here and count each and every mundane.

I am grateful that on this muggy 80 degree day when the window is open and I am not supposed to be up, the ceiling fan is providing a breeze.

I am grateful for an abundance of pillows.

I am grateful that I live in the 21st century when remotes are standard and I do not have to get out of bed to go to the tv and turn it on or off.

I am grateful that the ice packs don’t leak.

I am grateful for work and for the ability to work from my leg desk.

Image result for goldfinch

I am grateful for the smell of grass just cut and the noise of the mowing crew to break the quiet of the afternoon.

I am grateful for a quick thunderstorm and the sound of the wind and the downpour and the thunder.

I am grateful for bills to remind me that I am an adult now.

I am grateful for washed hair.

I am grateful for peppermint hand soap.

And I am grateful for blue jays, wrens, gold finches, and nests around the patio.

Image result for blue jay nest

 

One thought on “Being an adult is like folding a fitted sheet.

  1. Is it possible to actually fold a fitted sheet? I think perhaps only people that can solve the Rubik’s cube are able to fold a fitted sheet.

Leave a Reply

