Don’t mess it up.

 

 

Before Mom passed away, we went through her things and began to get rid of stuff. She gave back to me a “thing” I had given her several years earlier. A knick knack. It said,

This is the day the Lord has made.
Don’t mess it up.

This morning, I went for a walk with Sam. He was five hours away, but he was in my ear. We talked almost the whole time. As we walked, I noticed the sun coming up over the trees, no cotton fluffs this time. I noticed the dew all over the green lush. I noticed the sounds of the birds getting ready for the day. I noticed the petals of a flower, fallen and smushed onto the pavement. I noticed the fresh air to breathe. I noticed when Sam said, “I am the luckiest man in the world to have such a beautiful wife.” I noticed the early riser squirrels chasing each other across the yard. I noticed the neighbor in robe, out for her early morning smoke, always ready with a big smile and a wave. I noticed the quiet of the city before the busy begins another day.

This morning, as I walked from my car to the building, I noticed the sunshine that peeks through the breaks in the trees here in the woods, casting beautiful art pictures across the sidewalk and flower beds. I noticed the smell of earth. I noticed the intricacies of bark on the trees, beautiful and stately masterpieces from the Master. I noticed the holes in the mulch, created by creatures trying to bury or trying to find. I noticed the new floral beauty that lines the way, a gift every morning and every evening that I take for granted and rarely appreciate.

I noticed the papers on the sidewalk, delivered by someone in the darkness of the new day for offices nearby, such convenience and luxury we too often take for granted. I walked into the office, greeted by my boss who started the day ahead of me, and I noticed how easy it is to talk to him and share experiences of the previous evening. I noticed how good an egg from the microwave tastes with just a hint of salt, since I am cutting back on salt. I noticed how quickly I realized I do not have my cell phone with me, leaving it on the counter to charge at home – and I noticed how that doesn’t really bother me these days. I noticed how good it feels to have a space heater at my feet for a few hours in the mornings. I noticed how nice it is to work in a place where I enjoy each of my co-workers, my employers, my job.

We were created to draw life and nourishment from one another the way the roots of an oak tree draw life from the soil. Community – living in vital connectedness with others – is essential to human life. – John Ortberg

I noticed how nice it is that the building maintenance man hollers at me through the glass wall with a big wave and a smile. Hollers, not yells. Hollers is pleasant – yells is not so much. I noticed how nice it is to hear someone enter the building whistling a happy tune. I noticed how nice it is to be around people who do not complain but only speak encouragement. I noticed the satisfied feeling of productivity. I noticed the fun of a co-worker who bought red noses for each of us on this day.

Image result for red nose

I noticed the emails in my inbox, beautiful messages from those who love me, and one in particular:

Related image

This is THE day that God has given to me, so I’m going to do my best to not mess it up.

O my soul, bless God.
    From head to toe, I’ll bless his holy name!
O my soul, bless God,
    don’t forget a single blessing! – Psalm 103:1-2 (The Message)

Related image

Leave a Reply

