Very entertaining, these people in this town.

Image result for friendly neighbors clipart

I am grateful for a city employee, most likely a teenage boy but wouldn’t it be oh so funny if it were a grown man, who was mowing the city park across the street while Sam and I sat on the porch today and ate our sandwiches. He was a dancing fool on a John Deere.

I am grateful for an old guy I shall name “AJ Foyt,” who loves his blue truck and drives all around the town all the day long…because he can. He has places to go and people to see, I suppose, but he is the subject of our entertainment after we see him drive by for the 7th time in a day.

I am grateful for the white trucks that drive by, with signs like “City of Small Town USA” on the sides. Every time they drive by, I hear Barney Fife music in my head, thanks to Sam’s wisecrack.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRV-HXmeR28

I am grateful for 12:56 pm every day, when the street in front of our house lines the way for swimsuit-clad kids on bicycles, beach towels draped around their shoulders, headed to the city pool around the corner.

I am grateful for neighbors we barely know who check our basement for flooding when we are out of town, because they worry about us.

Image result for friendly neighbors clipart

I am grateful for our friend the policeman, who bought our dinner at our favorite Mexican restaurant in town. “It’s your welcome home meal!”

I am grateful for a random visitor, the flooring guy from the big city an hour and a half away, who “re-sanded these floors 10-15 years ago” and heard the home had new owners. Why yes, we would love to have our wood floors re-sanded. And get THIS: He told us where the key is located at the building in which he is currently re-sanding a floor down the street. “Go ahead and help yourself to take a look!”

How convenient is THAT?!

I am grateful for the guy at the Dollar Store, tatted and pony-tailed and small town friendly.

I am grateful for one finger waves behind a steering wheel.

And I am grateful for a robe-wearing neighbor who comes outside at early o’clock in the morning when Max the horse dog decides to be-friend us but needs to go back inside. Thanks, Max the horse dog – because of you, we just met another really nice neighbor.

Image result for being a good neighbor

 

One thought on “Very entertaining, these people in this town.

Leave a Reply

