The most beautiful place on earth.

Related image

Last night, we went for another drive. We have been going for drives the past three nights, always at about sunset or just before, so we can see the sun set against a magnificent backdrop of healthy wheat fields that go on and on and on and on over rolling fields.

We drive on dirt roads barely inhabited. Windows are rolled down so that a cool breeze filters in and we are able to hear all the sounds of quiet countryside.

I am grateful for the beauty of a wheat field against a pink sky.

I am grateful for the gorgeous sounds of the meadowlarks and frogs, singing their gratitude to their Creator.

I am grateful for the delight I felt when we slowly followed a doe and her two fawns, leaping through a wheat field, silhouettes against the dusky pink and purple sky. It was so beautiful, I realized after several seconds that I had stopped breathing…BREATHTAKING.

Image result for nature quotes

I am grateful for the opportunity to spend these evenings with Sam. He asks me every evening if I want to go for a drive, and as we marvel at the sights and sounds of north central Kansas on a peaceful and quiet night, he asks, “Are you okay with being here? Is this crazy what we are doing?”  Yes, and yes. A thousand times over, yes. As long as we are together, yes yes yes.

I am grateful to have seen the biggest rabbit I have ever seen in my life, hopping on the dirt road in front of us. I didn’t know what the creature was at first – I thought it might be a big turkey – but when he turned to hop up the embankment and get out of our way, HOLY BUNNY EARS BATMAN – it was a jack rabbit. His ears had to be a foot long.

I am grateful for hand-holding and static-y Royals broadcasting in a pickup truck.

I am grateful for a stump of a big elm that has been the perfect front yard bonfire for three days in a row.

I am grateful for Orscheln’s because they had weiny-roasting sticks and we were able to enjoy one of our favorite meals last night before our drive. When we returned, we were able to top off our evening in the darkness with toasty marshmallows squashed between two graham crackers and a piece of Hershey’s chocolate.

I am grateful for new friends who see us sitting on our front porch eating our toasty roasty dessert and honk and wave as they drive by.

Life just really doesn’t get much better than this small town life simplicity. I am so very, very grateful.

Image result for nature quotes

Leave a Reply

