Beyond our control.

I am grateful for tears.

I am grateful that when circumstances are beyond our control, we are still okay.

I am grateful for hymns like, “Under His Wings” and “I Know Who Holds Tomorrow, and I Know Who Holds My Hand,” and “His Eye is on the Sparrow,” and “I’d Rather Have Jesus.”

I am grateful for hand holding.

This song is one of Sam’s Dad’s favorites. He used to sing with Sam’s Mom, and this was one of their standard pieces. I wish I could have heard a Max and June duet.

A week ago, we visited Max and as I played the piano in the lobby, Max and Sam and Susan, Sam’s sister, all sang along,

“And He walks with me and He talks with me, and He tells me I am His own…”

Tonight, we drove to see Max, now on his final journey, his final walk, mostly unable to express what he is feeling, and most likely will not sing again until he is reunited with sweet June, his bride. But I am so very grateful tonight that he is not walking alone, that his hand is being held by Jesus, and that very soon, Max will walk in a garden once again, and he will probably want to work the ground a little bit. I’m sure God will have a section just waiting for him.

I am grateful that we had the privilege of holding Max’s hands again, had the privilege of whispering in his ear, “I love you, Max,” had the opportunity to see him open his eyes in recognition of Sam’s voice.

“Every step is getting brighter, as the golden stairs I climb, every burden’s getting getting lighter, every cloud is silver-lined, there the sun is always shining, there no tear will dim the eye, at the ending of the rainbow, where the mountains touch the sky.

Many things about tomorrow, I don’t seem to understand, but I know Who holds tomorrow, and I know Who holds my hand.

IMG_0289

 

 

Leave a Reply

