Pavarotti the bird.

 

Image result for catbird

The alarm went off this morning. Not that unusual, but it wasn’t the typical cell phone alarm. It was a most beautiful alarm of singing, right outside the bedroom window that was open just enough to assist the attic fan.  Normally, the singing we hear in small town USA is the cooing of the mourning doves, one whole family in every stinkin’ tree in town…or else those doves follow me everywhere I go.

But this morning, it was a GRAND song with many voices coming from one little beak.

I didn’t want to get up – I wanted to stay until the encore was finished, but the little guy did like the old Quaker song, and couldn’t keep from singing.

And it made me smile.

We went on our first-thing-in-the-morning walk, and I forgot temporarily about today’s alarm.

But when we came back home and sat on the kitchen porch for devotions and breakfast, Pavarotti joined us and couldn’t keep from singing again.

And it made us smile.

Related image

 

Turns out, Pavarotti is a catbird.

I am grateful for Pavarotti today, because I needed a reminder.

I am grateful for Pavarotti today, because I needed a song.

I am grateful for Pavarotti today, because Sam and I needed to smile.

How Can I Keep From Singing – Robert Lowry, 1860

My life flows on in endless song;
Above earth’s lamentation
I hear the sweet though far off hymn
That hails a new creation:
Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear the music ringing;
It finds an echo in my soul—
How can I keep from singing?

What though my joys and comforts die?
The Lord my Savior liveth;
What though the darkness gather round!
Songs in the night He giveth:
No storm can shake my inmost calm
While to that refuge clinging;
Since Christ is Lord of Heav’n and earth,
How can I keep from singing?

I lift mine eyes; the cloud grows thin;
I see the blue above it;
And day by day this pathway smoothes
Since first I learned to love it:
The peace of Christ makes fresh my heart,
A fountain ever springing:
All things are mine since I am His—
How can I keep from singing?

Image result for singing birds quotes

One thought on “Pavarotti the bird.

Leave a Reply

