That’s some pig!

Image result for charlotte's web quotes

We went to the county 4H fair last night. Sam bought a 300 pound pig named Little Red Riding Hood from the sweetest little 7-year-old who was showing at her very first fair.

I had visions of Wilbur and Charlotte all evening long and it was such fun to watch these little kids and medium-sized kids manhandling livestock.

 

I am grateful for a warm breeze blowing across the ring at the fair.

I am grateful I wasn’t relying on that nasty tea to quench my thirst.

I am grateful for silly friends who text funny messages when I am excited about buying a pig.

I am grateful we didn’t have to bring Little Red Riding Hood home with us, even though it would have been an adventure.

I am grateful for the simple pleasure of spending a Monday evening watching kids shine and show.

I am grateful for little girls in sparkle jeans and dirty cowboy boots.

I am grateful for hilarious sheep baaaaaaa’s.

 

Image result for charlotte's web quotes

I feel very much like Wilbur today. Probably look a little like him as well, but definitely feeling some Wilburishness. I have Charlottes in my life.

  1. I have a friend who drove an hour on Sunday night to meet us on our trip back west, just to deliver an entire week’s worth of homecooked meals that she had made for us.
  2. I have another friend who sent us a package of blue bracelets, just because, and ordered more for us to give to those who would like one.
  3. I have another friend from out of state who sent a card with a poem and money enough for several meals as we manage this crazy 2017.
  4. I have another anonymous friend who sent a book today that showed up at our door, just in time for a long drive to Colorado this weekend. I don’t know who to thank, so I will post it here, so that he or she knows I cannot wait to read it to Sam.
  5. I have another friend who shared Sam’s story with her quilt group and provided a beautiful handmade quilt for him to use at the cancer center, and then included me in an email to the entire group, so that I could see what a HUGE blessing this group is to not only us, but to each person they serve through their sewing.
  6. I have more friends who email and text and call and send cards in the mail-mail and are content with one-sided correspondence since I am overwhelmed at the moment.

IMG_0641

IMG_0642

I am very grateful today for 4H fairs and pigs that bring back memories of great stories and the Charlottes in my life who bless us with their words and their deeds and live out Galatians 6:10: “So let’s not allow ourselves to get fatigued doing good. At the right time we will harvest a good crop if we don’t give up, or quit. Right now, therefore, every time we get the chance, let us work for the benefit of all, starting with the people closest to us in the community of faith.”

Image result for charlotte's web quotes

Leave a Reply

