Acknowledge =

to recognize the fact, to admit the existence of.

Just acknowledge.

We are so quick to complain, but many times, we are also quick to keep to ourselves that which causes an inner smile.

I have much these days for which to acknowledge. I grow weary of this daily question: How’s Sam? But…

  • The fact that people ask just shows that they care.
  • time with grandchildren on the Echo screen
  • emails and voicemails from our congregational care pastors, because they do what they’re titled: care
  • the smell and sound of rain and windshield wipers that work
  • the silent sounds of meadowlarks and peace at sunset
  • the crunch of nuts
  • dandelions in the dumpster
  • a newly tiled floor and two showers with Dwight-approved grout
  • Myrtle the mourning dove living out her pregnancy in my hanging basket
  • surprise May Day baskets from secret friends
  • Costco
  • fresh sheets, pillows I can wash, and Gain/Downy smell
  • time on our porch to enjoy the view and relax
  • conversation over dinner with my Dad and my brother about the Fina station and Haven memories
  • wisteria, iris, lilacs, purple pearls, rose of Sharon, and all flowers purple that are making our yard beautiful right now
  • simple technology accomplishments and learning how to airplay church on the TV
  • a fire in the fireplace in May
  • old hymns that come to mind while I play the piano
  • two friends who are faithful to send cards of encouragement almost every week – one friend from KC and one friend from OK
  • and still…a Sam who holds my hand during prayer and is feeling better this chemo round.
  • For all of this, I acknowledge that I am grateful.

Leave a comment